Book Review: ‘Collateral Damage’ (Danger Never Sleeps) by Lynette Eason

Publisher: Revell
Publication Date: January 7, 2020
Genre: Inspirational Suspense
About The Book:
Honorably discharged from the Army after an explosion nearly killed her, former military psychiatrist Brooke Adams has set up shop to help others–but her days of helping military personnel are over. She’s got her own battles to fight from her time overseas, and she’s not equipped to take on more. Former Army Special Ops Sergeant First Class Asher James could handle anything that war sent his way–terrorists, bombs, bullets. The only thing that scares him now is sleep. As the shadows close in, the nightmares begin.

Finally convinced that he needs help, Asher makes an appointment with a counselor, and Brooke is pressed by her boss to take him on. When he arrives at her office she isn’t there–but a dead body is. Brooke is devastated when she walks in, and Asher is a conveniently strong shoulder to cry on. But she can’t take him on as a client after sharing such an intimate and unprofessional moment, can she? And he’s not sure he can handle sharing his deepest fears with such a beautiful woman.

When it becomes clear that Brooke was the real target of the attack–and that her secrets go even deeper than his own–Asher vows to protect her no matter what.

Bestselling author Lynette Eason is back with a new series that spans the globe and will have your heart working overtime.
About Lynette Eason
Award-winning, best-selling author, Lynette Eason writes for Harlequin’s Love Inspired Suspense line and for Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group. Her books have hit the CBA and ECPA bestseller lists and have won numerous awards such as the prestigious Carol Award, the Selah, the Daphne, the IRCC award and more. Lynette is married, has two children, and lives in Greenville, SC.

My Rating: 4 Stars!

Lynette Eason kicks off a new series with Collateral Damage and she does indeed kick it off well! I am looking forward to what the next book brings already.

Brooke Adams, former military psychiatrist has come stateside and set up an office hoping to help others. But she is fighting some pretty serious battles herself, even though she is no longer military. Brooke struggles with occasional PTSD and has made a rule to never treat a veteran. Then she walks in on a dead body in her office one morning and a veteran, former Spec Ops Sergeant First Class Asher James is there, having found the body. Asher has finally decided to get help for his own PTSD and has arrived for his appointment. Soon it becomes clear that Brooke is the target of the killer and she and Asher are racing to find what is going on. Asher knows this is just what he wants to stay away from but he vows to protect Brooke at all costs.

The ensuing events lead both Brooke and Asher to realize that way more is going on that they both at first suspected. There is a huge, international crime in the background and it’s up to them to try and stop it, while hopefully staying alive at the same time.

Eason has done an admirable job here, blending several incidents into one story. I was captivated from the very first. And there is a great cast of secondary characters that I hope find their story in future books in the series. Honestly, there is so much to love about this story. Eason carries the reader along on a high octane filled journey of intrigue and heinous crimes and is sure to please all suspense fans. Highly recommended.

*My thanks to Revell Publishing for a preview copy of this book via Net Galley. The opinions expressed here are entirely my own.