Book Review: ‘Still As Death’ (Juniper Grove Cozy Mystery Book 11) by Karin Kaufman

The 11th book in the Juniper Grove Mystery Series!
Rachel, Julia, and other members of Juniper Grove’s crafts fair committee are enjoying a fun evening at the home of Eve Coleman when the house lights suddenly go out. Two minutes later, finding her way in the dark to the breaker box, Rachel discovers the body of Eve’s husband.
Fortunately for the killer, the Coleman house is just outside Juniper Grove, within the county sheriff’s jurisdiction. Police Chief Gilroy’s investigative hands are tied. When the incompetent sheriff all too willingly jumps to the conclusion that Rachel is the killer, she and Gilroy must join forces to prove her innocence.
With her wedding to Gilroy a mere three weeks away, the last thing Rachel needs on her plate is another murder. But this time it’s dangerously personal. Between planning her wedding, dealing with Julia’s prickly attitude, and dodging the sheriff, Rachel must move heaven and earth to crack the baffling case.
This light, cozy mystery offers a clean read with a female amateur sleuth in a small-town setting. No foul language, sex, gore, or graphic scenes of any kind. It can be read as a standalone, but it will be enjoyed more as part of the series.
Always FREE on Kindle Unlimited.
Book 1: Death of a Dead Man
Book 2: Death of a Scavenger
Book 3: At Death’s Door
Book 4: Death of a Santa
Book 5: Scared to Death
Book 6: Cheating Death
Book 7: Death Trap
Book 8: Death Knell
Book 9: Garden of Death
Book 10: Death of a Professor
Book 11: Still as Death
Book 12: Grim Death (coming soon)
About Karin Kaufman
Karin Kaufman grew up devouring murder mysteries, especially of the cozy kind. Give her a good mystery, a comfy couch, and her sweet dog at her side, and she’s in heaven. She’s the author of the Juniper Grove Cozy Mystery Series, the Smithwell Fairies Cozy Mystery Series, and the Anna Denning Mystery Series. The Witch Tree, the first book in her Anna Denning series, was a finalist for a Grace Award. Karin has also written two children’s books, The Adventures of Geraldine Woolkins and More Adventures of Geraldine Woolkins.

For giveaways, exclusive content, and news on all Karin’s latest releases, sign up for her mailing list at

My Rating: 4 Stars!

‘Murder was an emotional, irrational act, and ordinary sense didn’t enter into it.’

I absolutely love Kaufman’s ‘Juniper Grove’ cozy mystery series. I eagerly await each new offering in this series and could read one every week. This one is no exception and I particularly enjoyed it very much. Rachel and the gang: Julia, Holly, Royce and James Gilroy meet every night to solve crimes committed in the tiny town in Colorado. Rachel herself is a mystery writer and quite good at sleuthing. Well, definitely great because she’s solved every murder ever committed in the town since the series started. I enjoyed this tremendously and now I can’t wait for another! Recommended.