An I Read With Audra Book Tour and Giveaway: ‘The Songs That Could Have Been’ (Sedgewick County Chronicles) by Amanda Wen

About The Book
Two couples in love. Two sets of impossible circumstances. One powerful God of grace.
After a tailspin in her late teens, Lauren Anderson’s life is finally back on track. Her battle with bulimia is under control, her career is taking off, and she’s surrounded by a loving family. Then a chance meeting with Carter Douglas, her first love and the man who broke her heart, leads to old feelings returning with new strength. And suddenly her well-balanced world is thrown off kilter.
Now a TV meteorologist, Carter is determined to make amends with Lauren. After all, she still owns his heart. But the reasons they broke up aren’t lost–and those old demons are forcing him toward the same decision he faced in the past. He isn’t sure he’s courageous enough to make a different choice this time around.
When Lauren’s elderly grandmother, Rosie, begins having nightmares about a man named Ephraim–a name her family has never heard before–a fascinating and forbidden past love comes to light. As Lauren and Carter work to uncover the untold stories of Rosie’s past in 1950s Wichita, they embark on a journey of forgiveness and second chances that will change their lives–and Rosie’s–forever. Along the way they’ll learn that God wastes nothing, his timing is perfect, and nothing is beyond his grace and redemption.
The Songs That Could Have Been is full of the same deftly handled, resonant writing that readers and critics alike enjoyed in Amanda Wen’s first book in the series. Fans of Lisa Wingate and Rachel Hauck will add Amanda Wen to their must-read shelves.

About Amanda Wen
Amanda Wen is an award-winning writer of inspirational romance and split-time women’s fiction. She has placed first in multiple contests, including the 2017 Indiana Golden Opportunity Contest, the 2017 Phoenix Rattler Contest, and the 2016 ACFW First Impressions Contest, among others. She was also a 2018 ACFW Genesis Contest finalist. Her debut novel, Roots of Wood and Stone, will release from Kregel Publications on January 26, 2021.
In addition to her writing, Amanda is an accomplished professional cellist and pianist, frequently performing with symphony orchestras, string quartets, and her church’s worship team, and accompanying high school and middle school choirs. A lifelong denizen of the flatlands, Amanda currently lives in Kansas with her patient, loving, and hilarious husband, their three adorable Wenlets, and a snuggly Siamese cat.

My Rating: 5 Stars!
‘Could it be God wasn’t finished writing their story?’

When I read Amanda Wen’s debut novel last year, it just moved me so much and I began to watch for her next offering. Now I’ve read it and I can tell you that it did not disappoint. She is a great storyteller! Wen tackles a very difficult subject here, well, three actually, and does them in the most wonderful and caring way that it melts the reader’s heart.

Full of such great characters, this book is going on my top reads list for the year. We see more than one story here in Wen’s dual time novel. Each is very moving in its own right and totally captures the reader’s mind completely. It did mine, at least. I could barely put it down.

Wen’s theme of God’s grace and redemption resonate throughout. His love for His creation is so evident here, and Wen’s telling of it moved me to tears more than once. She excels at this story and I’m so happy to be a fan. The blurb on the back cover says, in part, ‘God wastes nothing and his timing is perfect.’ How very true this is! These characters simply leapt off the pages and right into my heart, along with their hurts, joys, and love. I will not stop thinking about this one for a while. Perfection! Very well done!

My thanks to Kregel Publications for a copy of this book. The opinion in this review is expressly my own.

Print length

333 pages
Language

English
Publisher

Kregel Publications
Publication date

June 21, 2022

Buy Link: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0B15J747M/ref=dbs_a_def_rwt_hsch_vapi_tkin_p1_i1
Click here to enter giveaway:
https://www.audrajennings.com/2022/06/win-copy-of-songs-that-could-have-been.html

1 thought on “An I Read With Audra Book Tour and Giveaway: ‘The Songs That Could Have Been’ (Sedgewick County Chronicles) by Amanda Wen”

  1. I was incredibly impressed with Amanda’s debut, Roots of Wood and Stone that I am definitely moved to see where this new novel takes us. From the gorgeous cover to the unique title, there is a lot to entice me to read her newest novel. My interest is piqued!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.