Review: ‘After All’ (A Murphy Brothers Story, Book 7) by Jennifer Rodewald

After All
One choice changed everything, setting them on a path to devastation. Is there any way to redeem what might be the worst decision either of them has ever made?

Brayden Murphy has one simple goal: to live his dream life. He’s watched his six older brothers find ultimate happiness, so why should it be any different for him? But his path to satisfaction and bliss becomes impassible rubble when his longtime girlfriend marries someone else. Brayden’s pain is eclipsed only by his resentment—until he meets Audrey Smith, a sweet, smart young woman who seems to adore him for nothing more than the fact that he’s a Murphy.

Good-girl Audrey Smith has spent her life in the long shadow of her lifelong best friend (and rival), Megan Alexander. As the daughter of the Alexanders’ hired help, Audrey has always felt insignificant, so when Megan’s soon-to-be brother-in-law arrives and turns his attention to Audrey, she is easily swept away. The Murphy boys come with an honorable reputation, and if Megan Alexander is getting a Murphy, then why shouldn’t Audrey have a Murphy of her own?

Brayden eagerly pursues the comfort of Audrey’s admiration, and despite a warning to protect her heart, Audrey falls hard and fast. All is bliss … until things between them go too far. One evening, one choice, and Brayden and Audrey land in a crisis. Marriage is the obvious solution—done in secret to protect their other secret—and when two become one, all seems well again. But then the past catches up with Brayden and is complicated by a heart-shattering event neither ever imagined.
Can their cover-up marriage survive these painful blows? Or will Brayden and Audrey separate, two broken, unreconcilable hearts who will forever regret the choices they made?

After All is a tender love story, though heartbreakingly hard at times, of redemption and second chances.

Meet the Murphy brothers! Seven boys, forging their way through life and love, gripping faith, and learning to walk with God through all things. Theirs are stories of romance, but also of redemption.
Books in the Murphy Brothers Stories:
ALWAYS YOU (part of the Potters House 2 collection)
IN SPITE OF OURSELVES (part of the Potters House 2 collection)
EVERYTHING BEHIND US (part of the Potters House 2 collection)
AFTER ALL (releasing Nov. 2021)

About Jennifer Rodewald

Jennifer Rodewald/J. Rodes lives on the wide plains somewhere near the middle of Nowhere. A coffee addict, pickleball enthusiast, and storyteller, she also wears the hats of mom, teacher, and friend. Mostly, she loves Jesus and wants to see others fall in love with Him too.

She would love to hear from you! Please visit her at or at

My Rating: 5 Stars!

‘God isn’t afraid of your hard places. Your messes don’t scare Him.’

The Murphy Brothers series by Jennifer Rodewald is a stunning that I highly and without reservation recommend. The seventh offering here had me shedding more thana few tears. Rodewald is extremely adept at writing characters with real-life issues and the depth of their emotions she brings out in their stories is powerful.

These folks do not lead perfect lives. Far from it. They mess up, sometimes big time and finding their way back is not easy. But each time, they realize that the grace of God is rich indeed. The spiritual depth of these books is exceptional. Truly. This series is heart-deep.

My thanks to the publisher for a copy of this book. The opinion here in this review is expressly my own.

Publisher: Rooted Publishing
Publication Date: November 30, 2021
Buy Link:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.