Book Review: ‘Ruby Jane’ (Montana Marshalls #5) by Susan May Warren

She loved…and lost.

Ruby Jane never thought she’d meet the man of her dreams while running from the police in Russia. That he’d steal her heart on a train to Siberia. But loving a former CIA officer comes with a price…a life of danger. A life of high stakes.

A life where he simply disappears…

He has no memory of the man he was.

Mack Jones has no memory of his past…just the dark sense that he is hiding. And, he wants to stay that way. Mack likes the life he’s built in a small tourist town, tucked away beyond the mountains, and has no desire to dig around in the gray areas of his memory.

When his place of business catches fire and Mack rescues the owner, he makes the news, which of course alerts the past he’s hoping to outrun.

The only person who can help him is a mysterious woman he doesn’t remember.

But a woman he desperately needs.

The surprising, thrilling conclusion to the Montana Marshalls series.

Action, drama, adventure, flawed individuals and emotional and spiritual challenges are hallmarks of Warren’s books. – Christian Library Journal

Warren has a knack for creating captivating and relatable characters that pull the reader deep into the story. – Radiant Lit

Genre: Inspirational Romantic Suspense
Length 300 pages

Book 1: Knox
Book 2: Tate
Book 3: Ford
Book 4: Wyatt
Book 5: Ruby Jane (November 2019)

About Susan May Warren

Growing up in Minneapolis and attending the U of MN, I learned to love city life, although I’m a woodsy girl at heart. Or maybe I’m an adventurer — having lived and traveled all over the world, including Siberia Russia as a missionary for eight years. Probably that’s why my characters can’t sit still, and seem to get into one scrape after another — they’re too much like me! I love God, my family, my country, my church, and feel privileged every day to be able to write stories.

Here’s my “Official” Bio.

With over 1 million books sold, critically acclaimed novelist Susan May Warren is the Christy, RITA and Carol award-winning author of over seventy-five novels with Revell, Tyndale, Barbour, Steeple Hill and Summerside Press. Known for her compelling plots and unforgettable characters, Susan has written contemporary and historical romances, romantic-suspense, thrillers, rom-com and Christmas novellas.

With books translated into eight languages, many of her novels have been ECPA and CBA bestsellers, were chosen as Top Picks by Romantic Times, and have won the RWA’s Inspirational Reader’s Choice contest and the American Christian Fiction Writers Book of the Year award.

Of her books, Publisher’s Weekly has written, “Warren lays bare her characters’ human frailties, including fear, grief, and resentment, as openly as she details their virtues of love, devotion, and resiliency. She has crafted an engaging tale of romance, rivalry, and the power of forgiveness.”

And Library Journal adds, “Warren’s characters are well-developed and she knows how to create a first rate contemporary romance…”

Susan is also a nationally acclaimed writing coach, teaching at conferences around the nation and winner of the 2009 American Christian Fiction Writers Mentor of the Year award. She loves to help people launch their writing careers and is the founder of Novel.Academy and, a writing website that helps authors get published and stay published. She’s also the author of the popular writing method, The Story Equation.

My Rating: 5 Stars!

‘We are Marshalls. And we are not alone.’

Sometimes you finish a book and you can only sit there and think about that book and just are unable to pick up another for a while because this one was so incredibly captivating. This is what Susan May Warren’s books do to me.

Susan May Warren gives us, triumphantly, the highly anticipated and equally exciting finale to her Montana Marshalls series. And boy, does she ever give us a stunning ride! Ruby Jane does not disappoint.

‘When all else is done, God is enough, everything and always.’

This one picks up where Wyatt left off and takes off with a bang and does not let up one bit! I was gasping, shaking, crying, smiling and giving thanks to God all the way through this book. This book way more than met my expectations. I thought after Wyatt, she just couldn’t top that book, but my goodness! I was completely captivated the entire way. Warren has a distinctive ability to create a family dynamic that just totally works. She crafts her characters in such a way that they actually seem real and larger than life. I feel like I’m in every scene, pulling for them, crying with them and hurting when they hurt. I had to watch myself about to pray for them! All her family based books are so intense and fulfilling to read.

One thing that I love so much about Susan May Warren’s work is her power-packed spiritual themes. I just feel that they are Spirit led and are so soul nourishing. It’s not just reading a book and being entertained, but a truly spiritual experience, one that stays with you–moving you with a life lesson and a true blessing. At least, for me.

‘When we cling to Jesus, we are changed. Reborn. We become who we were meant to be because there is nothing of ourselves left.’

This series is going on my Top Ten List for 2019. It is the absolute best series I’ve ever read and one that, as soon as I finished Ruby Jane, I wanted to pick up Knox and start reading all over again. Truly, this series has moved me beyond my ability to convey here. I very highly recommend these books and this author.

*My thanks to the author and publisher for a preview copy of this book. The opinions expressed in this review are completely and entirely my own.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: ‘Ruby Jane’ (Montana Marshalls #5) by Susan May Warren”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.